Databases
Search for journal articles and other research resources
Abridged Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
The Abridged Thesaurus Linguae Graecae allows researchers browse and search a selection of about 1,000 Greek texts from Homer (8th century B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453. Includes patristic texts, Plato, Aristotle, etc.
Registration required.
Academic Search Premier
Topics: Everything. General, all-purpose database.
Sources: Mostly journal articles; some scholarly books and reports.
Indexing: 8,500+ titles (7,400+ peer-reviewed). 1911– present. Includes abstracts.
Full Text: 4,600+ titles (3,900+ peer-reviewed).
ArchiveGrid
Search for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives throughout the world. ArchiveGrid includes nearly a million detailed descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide.
Art in the Christian Tradition (ACT)
An image database of over 7,000 Christian artworks from the 1st century A.D. to the present, including sarcophagi, mosaics, frescoes, manuscripts, sculpture, architecture, and paintings. Entries are searchable by keyword, scripture reference, iconographic content, personal name, time period, and geographic location. Images may be used for non-commercial purposes with attribution.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS
The premier index in the field of religion and theology.
Topics: Biblical studies, religion, theology, anthropology, business, history, law, medicine, philosophy, psychology, sociology.
Sources: Journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews.
Indexing: 2,470+ journal titles; 1818– present. 18,800+ essay collections; 1960– present.
Full Text: 580+ journal titles. 1881– present.
Boundless
A small collection of Christian e-audiobooks.
Business Source Premier
Topics: All areas of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Sources: Journal articles, market research reports, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses.
Indexing: 3,312 journal titles (1,908 peer-reviewed) plus 10,233 other materials. 1911– present.
Full Text: 2,127 journals (1,101 peer-reviewed) plus 10,182 other materials.
Calvinism Resources Database
Topics: John Calvin and Calvinism.
Sources: Journal articles, essays, and lectures.
Indexing: 1960– present.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Topics: Growth and development of children through the age of 21.
Sources: Journal articles, technical reports, books, and dissertations.
Indexing: 239 journal titles. 1880– present. Includes abstracts.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education. Collection is fully searchable and can also be browsed by author, title, or subject. Also includes Scripture search. All texts are produced from works in the public domain.
Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon
A database of Aramaic texts in all dialects from the earliest (9th century BCE) through the 13th century CE. Includes a database of approximately 2.5 million lexically parsed words, and tools for analyzing the data.
Consumer Health Complete
Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. Designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness—from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Topics include aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children’s health, men’s & women’s health, etc.
Covenant Dissertation & Thesis Search
Quickly search the library catalog for dissertations and theses completed at Covenant that can be accessed online. Includes option to limit by degree program.
CRC Periodical Index
Index of periodicals published by the Christian Reformed Church and its subsidiary institutions (e.g. Banner).
Indexing: 20 titles. Many titles are completely indexed.
Credo Reference
Search or browse the full-text of major reference works. Includes specialized dictionaries and handbooks on the Bible and theology, as well as a few Bible commentaries.
EBSCO E-Books
A collection of e-books selected by the Library staff, plus a shared collection of e-books from MOBIUS. Read online or download to your computer or tablet.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Topics: All aspects of education (adult, career, & vocational education; information & technology; assessment & evaluation; language & linguistics; disabilities & gifted education; reading & communication; educational management; teachers & teacher education; elementary & early childhood education; urban education; higher education; and many more subjects).
Sources: Journal articles, government reports, conference proceedings, project & program descriptions, curriculum guides, bibliographies, and more.
Indexing: 1,085 journal titles (most peer-reviewed) plus reports and other non-journal content from 800+ organizations. 1966– present.
Full Text: 84 journal titles and many of the reports—323,000 records.
ETHXWeb & GenETHX
Topics: Bioethics and professional ethics. (GenETHX is a subset of ETHXWeb focusing on genetics.)
Sources: Journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and news articles.
Indexing: 251,100 records. 1988– present.
Full Text: Some links to the full-text providers.
Explora – Elementary
A search service designed for young learners. Content includes over 70 elementary school magazines, a built-in encyclopedia and dictionary, plus educational books, and thousands of photos, maps & flags.
Explora – High School
A search service designed for high school students. Content includes nearly 500 high school magazines, 100,000 biographies, 55,000 primary source documents, plus educational books, newspaper articles, and thousands of photos, maps & flags.
Explora – Middle School
A search service designed for students in the middle grades. Content includes more than 170 middle school magazines, thousands of biographies and historical essays, a built-in encyclopedia, plus educational books, newspaper articles, and thousands of photos, maps & flags.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search or browse the full-text of major reference works.
Includes full subject encyclopedias on African religion; American religion; American religious history; bioethics; Buddhism; counseling; drugs, alcohol and addictive behavior; Islam and the Muslim world; Judaism; marriage and family; philosophy; psychology of classroom learning; religion; religious practices; and science and religion.
Google Cultural Institute Art Project
Searchable, high resolution images of artwork from the collections of museums worldwide, including paintings, drawings, sculptures, and other artistic artifacts. Also features virtual tours of museums and exhibits.
Google Scholar
Topics: Scholarly materials posted on the open web from a variety of disciplines.
Sources: Articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
Full Text: Hit or miss. Some materials freely available; others require payment or subscription.
GreenFILE
Topics: The environment and environmental perspectives on agriculture, education, law, health, technology, etc. Global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, alternative fuel sources, etc.
Sources: Academic journals, trade publications, books, and research reports.
Indexing: 759 titles (294 peer-reviewed). 1913– present.
Full Text: Links to open access journals where applicable.
H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences
An online scholarly review resource, religion is just one part of this review collection. The reviews archive is separated into annual volumes. You can browse through the volumes or use the search feature to assist in finding reviews.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A collection of digitized material from several large research universities.
- 4.8 million book titles.
- 8.8 million total volumes.
- 2.4 million volumes (~27% of total) in the public domain.
Full view available for public domain materials, uncopyrightable works, and works where permission has been granted. Limited preview available for others.
HeritageQuest Online
A comprehensive database of American genealogical and historical sources with coverage dating back to the 1700s—primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. The collection consists of six core data sets:
- U.S. Federal Censuses records from 1790 through 1930, with name indexes for many decades.
- Genealogy and local history books—over 28,000 family histories, local histories, and other books.
- Periodical Source Index (PERSI) for genealogy and local history periodicals.
- Revolutionary War records.
- Freedman’s Bank Records (1865–1874) for tracing African American ancestors prior to and immediately after the Civil War.
- LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set records the memorials, petitions, private relief actions made to the U.S. Congress back to 1789.
Humanities International Complete
Topics: Broad coverage of all aspects of the humanities, including anthropology, art & entertainment, communication, economics, education, ethnic & cultural studies, history, linguistics, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, sociology, etc.
Sources: Academic journals, magazines, and books.
Indexing: 2,800+ titles, 1909– present.
Full Text: 1,840+ titles.
Hymn Tune Index
Index of hymn tunes from English-language hymns printed anywhere in the world before 1820.
Searchable by tune name, text contents, composer, or source.
Hymnary
Database of hymn texts, hymn tunes, hymn writers, and hymnals. Includes biographical information from sources such as the Psalter Hymnal Handbook and Julian’s Dictionary of Hymnology.
Indexing: 5,500 hymnals, 195,000 texts, and 16,700 tunes.
Full Text: Many hymn texts, full scores, and media files.
Index Theologicus
Topics: Theology and Biblical Studies.
Sources: International academic journals, essay collections, and conference proceedings.
Indexing: 600+ journals, 1600+ essay collections, 2700+ conferences. 1970– present.
Internet Archive Scholar
Topics: Research articles and other scholarly documents preserved by the Internet Archive.
Sources: Open Access and public domain materials. Content ranges from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals to the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.
Indexing & Full Text: Over 25 million items.
Learning Express Library
Online practice tests, skills improvement courses, and test preparation ebooks covering ACT, SAT, GRE, LSAT, Advanced Placement, civil service, military, real estate, law enforcement, citizenship, TOEFL, ESL, basic skills for elementary, middle, and high school, and much more. Materials available for all ages—elementary through adult—and each practice test provides instant scoring and customized feedback.
Also features the Job & Career Accelerator, which includes an online resume and letter building tool, job and internship listings, and occupational profiles; and the Computer Skills Center, which includes video tutorials on popular software.
Free registration with the Learning Express site is required to access the practice tests.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Topics: Librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management.
Sources: Periodicals, books, research reports, and proceedings.
Indexing: 900+ titles (490 peer-reviewed). 1964– present. Includes abstracts.
MasterFILE Premier
Topics: General reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues.
Sources: General periodicals, book reviews, pamphlets, reference books, biographies, government documents, primary source documents, and an image collection.
Indexing: 2,689 periodical titles plus other full-text materials below. 1975 present. Includes abstracts.
Full Text: 1,687 periodicals, 500+ reference books, 107,000 primary source documents, 510,000 photos, maps & flags.
MEDLINE
Topics: Clinical medicine, public health, health policy development, dentistry, experimental medicine, health services administration, nursing, nutrition, pathology, psychiatry, toxicology, veterinary medicine, etc.
Sources: Scholarly medical journals.
Indexing: 5,500+ titles. Over 19 million records. 1946– present.
National Academies Press
Reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. Topics include Behavioral and Social Sciences, Education, Health and Medicine, and Policy for Science and Technology. 3,000+ titles. Most (but not all) are free.
New Testament Abstracts (NTA)
For pre-1985 coverage, see the print version of NTA on the index shelves in the Reference area.
Topics: New Testament studies.
Sources: Scholarly journals, books, and software.
Indexing: 1,100+ journal titles (46,000 articles, 1,600 reviews), 17,000 books, and 61 software programs. 1985– present. Includes abstracts.
Newspaper Source
Topics: Items from international, national, and regional news sources.
Sources: International, national, and regional (U.S.) newspapers; television and radio transcripts.
Indexing: 502 newspapers and other news sources. 1985 present.
Full Text: Cover-to-cover for 40 national and international newspapers; selective for 330+ regional and additional international newspapers.
Old Testament Abstracts (OTA)
Topics: Old Testament studies. Antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology.
Sources: Scholarly journals, books, and software.
Indexing: 522 titles. 1978– present. Includes abstracts.
Open Dissertations
Indexing: Over 800,000 dissertations and theses from participating institutional repositories, plus records from Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities, 1933–1955.
Full Text: Links to content in institutional open access repositories as applicable.
Oxford Bibliographies
Authoritative, peer-reviewed, and annotated guides that introduce topics and identify important scholarly works for use in research and study.
Topics: Biblical studies
Oxford Reference
Search or browse the full-text of major reference works. Includes encyclopedias on theology and biblical studies.
Perseus Digital Library
A digital library for the humanities that includes a large collection of Greek and Roman texts.
Post-Reformation Digital Library
Collection of e-books pertaining to theology and philosophy during the Reformation, Post-Reformation, and Early Modern Era (late 15th 18th centuries).
Topics: Church history, historical theology, reformation
Project Gutenberg
Collection of over 19,000 books on a multitude of subjects. The collection is strongest in literature. All texts are produced from works in the public domain.
ProQuest Psychology Journals
Topics: Behavioral psychology, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, neurology, personality, psychobiology, psychometrics, social psychology
Sources: Major psychology and psychosomatic journals.
Indexing: 1,267 journal titles (1,245 peer-reviewed). 1957– present. Includes abstracts.
Full Text: 847 journal titles, plus 4,000 dissertations.
Psychotherapy.net
Streaming video collection containing explanations and demonstrations of various counseling theories and techniques.
Regional Business News
Topics: Business news.
Sources: Business journals, newspapers and news wires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Indexing: 181 titles.
Full Text: 161 titles.
Religious & Theological Abstracts (RTA)
Topics: Religion, theology, and Biblical studies.
Sources: Scholarly journals.
Indexing: 780 titles. 1948– present. Includes abstracts.
Research in Ministry (RIM)
Sources: Doctor of Ministry, Doctor of Missiology, and Doctor of Educational Ministry projects from schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools.
Indexing: 1981– present. Includes abstracts.
SAGE Knowledge
A collection of scholarly e-books on topics in the social sciences, including counseling, psychotherapy, and psychology.
Science Reference Center
Topics: Biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
Full Text: 220 periodicals, 1,000 reference books & encyclopedias, 810 essays, 4,000 full-length biographies.
Searchable Greek Inscriptions
Database of Greek inscriptions from Greece, Crete, Cyprus, Thrace, the north coast of the Black Sea, Syria, Egypt, North Africa, and Germany.
Inscriptions can be searched in Greek, or browsed by region.
The Bryn Mawr Classical Review
An archive from 1990 to present of book reviews for classical resources. The site also can be searched across the years by keyword. Religion is just part of this collection of reviews.
The Medieval Review (previously The Bryn Mawr Medieval Review)
Provides an archive of reviews from 1993 to present in the field of Medieval Studies.
Theological Commons
Digital library of over 76,000 books and journals on theology and religion. Hosted by Princeton Theological Seminary.
Works of Jonathan Edwards Online
Large collection of Edwards’ works produced by the Jonathan Edwards Center at Yale University. Collection is fully searchable and can also be browsed by date, theme, title, or Scripture. 1,700+ documents. Access requires registering for a free account.
WorldCat
To narrow your WorldCat search to dissertations and theses, set the “Format” limiter to “--Thesis, Dissertation” (under Book).